sparsenicjade
RSS
Reviews For Always a Woman
Reviewer: Ace Milly Anonymous Date: 20/01/17 - 05:05 pm Title: Chapter 1

Pretty interesting read. It brings us back to an era where girls are viewed as objects. But later realized that women are Gems that should be given importance. Just like the stories via find smart writers for your term paper which are pretty amazing.

Reviewer: E Anonymous Date: 18/05/10 - 05:40 pm Title: Chapter 1

I really do love this. Your Une and Treize break my heart. Any chance of more? Would love to read more of Wufei's story.

Author's Response: Oh wow, probably not, but seeing as how this was one of my favorite stories to write ever? Maybe... Thanks!!

Reviewer: four.quartets Anonymous Date: 30/04/10 - 10:05 pm Title: Chapter 1

"With me and him and the world, it was never about you."

Oh. Oh, Une. Oh, Treize. This is just so *heartbreaking*.

I've always loved stories told from the POVs of minor characters, and this hits the spot. For me, Treize, Zechs, and the Gundam pilots are archetypes, epic heroes of their own stories--to read this story is to experience the melancholy of loving someone yet never fully being part of their story. To have been cognizant that her role is a secondary one is a staggeringly brutal self-awareness that makes your Une amazing. In some strange way, it feels like being a fan of the show :)

Author's Response: Hm, that's an interesting metaphor, I had never thought about it that way. But you're right. Thank you so much for taking the time to feed this story, it's very dear to me.

Reviewer: tebro Anonymous Date: 15/03/10 - 03:01 pm Title: Chapter 1

Believe me when I say this is one of the finest GW character studies I've read, and that I was blown completely out of the water. Thank you so much for writing this breathtaking, heartbreaking story.

Nostalgia last night brought me to delicious.com in search of GW fic, and I stumbled onto this fic. There haven't been many fics I've read that successful marry the Gundam universe with nuanced understanding of a character and his/her motivations and do it with such deft compassion. Without relying on easy labels, you've created a believable person from a terribly over-looked character.

I believed your Une. I loved her. And the only regret I have in your creation of something so far beyond the source material is that I've finished it.

Author's Response: I seriously need to hug you to death. No, you don't even understand. This story is the story of my heart, for real. Like, probably the thing that meant the most to me when I wrote it and still stands really strongly as something I love, which is SUPER rare for me and it's very rarely read and I just !!! THANK YOU.

Reviewer: Lyss Anonymous Date: 10/01/09 - 02:39 pm Title: Chapter 1

Read this fic on some site somewhere a few weeks ago while nostalgy reading GW fic and just remembered to stop by your current site and say I absolutely loved it. I don't read that much GW fic after burning out completely on 1x2 fic, but I absolutely loved it. It's a fascinating look on Une and Treize (and Duo) and I love the way it gave a history on what life may have been on that side. Lovelovelove. ^^

Author's Response: Thank you SO much for coming over here to tell me this. This story is very close to my heart and I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: Minna Anonymous Date: 10/08/08 - 04:16 am Title: Chapter 1

This is the first Gundam Wing fic I've read in years, and I can count out the amount of het I've read without having to take my shoes off, but this is the most amazing, touching, incredible story I've read in the Wing universe, bar none.

Author's Response: You really, you've no idea what that means to me, because this story is so close to my heart. I haven't written much GW, and yes, I write more slash than het, but writing this was such a journey for me. Thank you!

Reviewer: Neery Anonymous Date: 06/10/07 - 10:05 am Title: Chapter 1

I only read this one on an enthusiastic rec and my trust in your writing abilities, because het about a woman I never even heard of in a fandom I barely know is not something I'd usually read, but I'm glad I gave it a chance.

I really loved the beginning - Une's wonder at this new world and all the luxuries Treize is giving her was wonderful to watch, and her reactions to it all made me love her. Her determination to do well and impress him, her strength and her fighting spirit - she sounds like an amazing woman, and if she is even half this amazing in canon, I should maybe try to get my hands on that.

The whole scene of her waiting in the prison chamber was so eerily realistic and felt so real it freaked me out a little, and the way she dealt with it made me admire her so much. And then finding out that Treize, who she loved and admired so much, was the one who had done that to her... OW. Is that canon? In any case, you handled it brilliantly.

I have to admit that I skimmed a little in the middle, when the whole plot with the gundam pilots happened. I'd probably have gotten more out of that part of the story if I was familiar with the canon; as it is, I wasn't really sure what was going on during parts of it.

But I definitely got back into the story when the whole Duo/Une relationship started to happen. I really like the way those two fit together. And seeing the little glimpses of Duo with his orphans made me happy.

Author's Response: Okay, you know what? I'm always impressed when people read fics in fandoms that aren't theirs, but WOW. WOW. Because this is a tough fic for people who ARE in GW fandom. (And, btw, who recced this fic? It's VERY rarely read.) Anyway, my point is, Une's a very minor character and this is doing a lot of re-reading work and well, it's just not the type of fic that gets a lot of traffic, which is fine, because it was a total work of love, which makes me all the more thrilled that you, who I love to pieces, took the time to try it. Thank you so, so much.

Reviewer: sinsense Anonymous Date: 31/05/07 - 08:52 pm Title: Chapter 1

I just tagged this into my del.icio.us. It still is one of my favorite stories of all time. I wanted it to have a review!

Author's Response: Have I mentioned my passionate and undying love for you today?

Skin by egelantier, photo by microbophile